Towns – Botswana


Francistown is the second largest city in Botswana and also one of the oldest. Located in the east of the country near the border with Zimbabwe. In the mid-19th century..


Gaborone is the capital and also largest city of Botswana and is located in the south-east of the country near the border with South Africa. There are excellent facilities for..


Ghanzi is a place in the west of Botswana and is also called the ‘capital of the Kalahari’, in 2011 this town had more than 12,000 inhabitants. The farmers here..


Gweta is a small village in Botswana about 200 kilometers from Maun and 100 kilometers from Nata. Gweta is sometimes called the ‘gateway to the Makgadikgadi Pans’. In the area..


Kasane is a small town in the extreme north-east of Botswana, it is located near the border with Zambia, Zimbabwe and Namibia (Caprivi Strip). It is a popular base for..

Martin’s Drift

One of the border posts between South Africa and Botswana is Martin’s Drift (note: the same border post is known in South Africa as Groblersbrug). The border is formed by..


The name Maun comes from the word ‘maung’ which means ‘place of short reeds’. The village was founded in 1915 by the Tawana people and is located along the Thamalakane..


Palapye is a town in the east of Botswana on the road between the capital Gaborone and Francistown. The Morupule Colliery coal mine is situated here, which together with the..