South Africa

South Africa has been called the most beautiful country in the world several times. As the name suggests, the country is located in the southernmost point of Africa. The country borders on Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Swaziland and Mozambique. In addition, Lesotho is completely surrounded by South Africa.
The most famous tourist destinations in the country are Table Mountain in Cape Town and the Kruger National Park where you can look for the infamous Big Five during safaris: elephant, rhino, buffalo, lion and leopard.

The country is divided into nine provinces of which Gauteng is the smallest, but with the most inhabitants. Gauteng is the economic heart of the country with major cities such as Johannesburg and Pretoria.

You can find more information per province on our website.

Handy information:

  • The currency in South Africa is the Rand. Credit cards are generally accepted and you regularly come across ATM cash machines along the way. Payment by debit card (debit card) is also possible at most stores and restaurants.
  • South Africa has 11 official languages, namely: Zulu, Xhosa, Afrikaans, English, Tswana, North and South Sotho, Tsonga, Swazi, Ndebele and Venda. English is the most common language in shops and restaurants, but because Afrikaans resembles Dutch, you can sometimes make yourself understood during your vacation when you speak Dutch slowly!
Add to my travel plans

Top 3 Cities

Beste Activitie